Saturday Single No. 70

Originally posted May 3, 2008

I keep pretty detailed records of my LP and CD acquisitions, including date and place of purchase. Lately, I’ve been buying a few 45s online, and I imagine I’m going to have to start doing the same for them.

Luckily, when I catalog the 45s I already have –estimating as best I can date and place for the older acquisitions – I won’t have the massive task I had when I cataloged the albums. I’d jotted the acquisition date on albums beginning sometime in 1970, so I didn’t have to guess, but the creation of a full database for more than 2,000 LPs took something like two weeks. As I only have maybe fifty 45s, it should be a day’s work at most.

Overall, I’m about a month behind on cataloging my new music. As I was pondering what to write today, I stacked the CDs and thought that readers might be interested in seeing what the last month brought me. So here goes, starting with the CDs.

April 3: It’s About Time by Bobby Whitlock, 1999, shared here April 11.

April 3: Late For The Sky by Jackson Browne, 1974. Maybe my favorite Jackson Browne album.

April 4: Living Contribution by Shawn Phillips, 2007. A two-disc collection of live solo performances recorded in South Africa, where Phillips now lives.

April 12: Greatest Hits by Neil Young, 2004. Trying to distill nearly forty years of record-making into sixteen tracks would be a daunting task. This CD does a pretty good job of it.

April 12: experience hendrix by Jimi Hendrix, 1997. I discussed this CD recently.

April 13: Tango In The Night by Fleetwood Mac, 1987. A lot of observers dis this late Mac album. I quite enjoy it.

April 13: Behind the Mask, Fleetwood Mac, 1990. A lot of observers dis this even later Mac album. I’m one of them, but it was cheap.

April 13: It Looks Like Snow by Phoebe Snow, 1976. One of the great voices.

April 14: On This New Day by Anno Domini, 1971. I learned about this album while discussing “Hitchcock Railway” and learned a day later it had been released on CD. A great find!

April 19: Early Albums by Michael Johnson. An email exchange reminded me of Johnson and of his 1973 album, There Is A Breeze, which I heard many times during my stay in Denmark. There Is A Breeze is one of the three albums on this two-disc set, which is sold through Johnson’s website.

April 19: Go Slow Down by the BoDeans, 1993. Cities 97 used to play the BoDeans a lot, and I’ve always liked them. So I grabbed a cheapie at the pawnshop.

April 19: Camelot by the Broadway cast, 1960. I knew Camelot was one of the Texas Gal’s favorite musicals, so I grabbed this at the pawnshop.

April 19: Dance Naked by John Mellencamp, 1994. Also from the pawnshop, filling a gap in the collection.

May 1: What’s Going On by Marvin Gaye, 1970.A reissue with bonus material of one of the greatest Motown albums, also filling a gap.

May 2: Curtis/Live! by Curtis Mayfield, 1971. A reissue, also with some bonus tracks, of a record I didn’t know back then but have come to love.

May 2: Manassas by Stephen Stills, 1972. For about four years, from 1969 through 1972, Stills – whether on his own or with his equally gifted bandmates – could do no wrong.

May 2: It Might As Well Be Swing by Frank Sinatra with Count Basie and his orchestra, 1964. A quirky selection, maybe, but this album of great music – the arrangements were by Quincy Jones – is a gem.

I bought one LP this month. As I do occasionally, I did a search about April 20 at the various places I buy records online, looking for Bobby Jameson’s Working! album. The few times I’ve seen the record listed, it’s been priced at $100 or more. There was a copy listed at GEMM for $150. But one of Amazon’s affiliated shops had Working! available for $10. A few days later, the record was in my home. The record itself is in okay shape, but the gatefold jacket is in very nice shape; in the next few days, I’m going to send it to Bobby for an autograph.

I picked up a couple of 45s in the last month:

April 12: “Hitchcock Railway/You Think You’ve Got Problems” by Dunn & McCashen, 1969. Dunn and McCashen wrote “Hitchcock Railway” and when I spotted the record online, I thought it would be fun to find out how the originators did the song. It’s pretty good.

May 2: “Hitchcock Railway/Country Side Woman” by Change, 1972. When I discussed “Hitchcock Railway” a few weeks ago, I wrote about Clockwork, an Ohio group that recorded “Hitchcock Railway” and put it on a self-titled album in 1972 or 1973. I saw this single by Change online, and the B-side, “Country Side Woman,” was also listed on the Clockwork album. Turns out that it’s the same group with different names on different labels. Greene Bottle released the album and Kapp released the single. The versions on the 45 are not the same as on the album: “Hitchcock Railway” is a live version, from some place called the Agora, and “Country Side Woman” is shorter than the version on the album by nearly a minute. I haven’t listened closely enough yet to decide whether it’s an edit or a different recording, but I’d lean toward the latter.

Having sorted through all that, I thought I’d add another layer to the explorations here of “Hitchcock Railway” and offer the original version by Dunn & McCashen as today’s Saturday Single.

Dunn & McCashen – “Hitchcock Railway” [Capitol 2563, 1969]

Tags:

Leave a Reply

