Bettye LaVette Covers Dolly Parton

Originally posted October 18, 2007

It seemed like a good idea to look at some Bettye LaVette today, so I wandered around YouTube this morning, getting sidetracked occasionally, finding stuff by Stephen Stills and Manassas and a great live performance of “Volunteers” by Jefferson Airplane.

Eventually, I got myself focused and found a performance LaVette did for a Belgian television network in November of 2005. It’s a firey performance of “Little Sparrow,” a Dolly Parton tune that LaVette included on her 2005 album, I’ve Got My Own Hell to Raise.

[The video I originally posted has been deleted. This appears to be the same performance; if not, it’s just as good.]

Tags:

Leave a Reply

