A Treat From Candi Staton

Originally posted August 13, 2007

I’m not going to be writing much today. I’m a bit under the weather and I’ve also ignored my chores list for way too long. But I do have an album to post today:

In September of 1968, Candi Staton made her way to Rick Hall’s Fame Studios in Florence, Alabama, and began the recording sessions at that legendary studio that would result in her first album, I’m Just A Prisoner, released the next year.

Considered one of the landmark albums in the history of southern soul, I’m Just A Prisoner helped put Fame Records more on the map than the company already was and made Staton an R&B/soul star.

While the album itself is still out of print, one can cobble it together from various CD reissues of Staton’s work, and that’s what I’ve done here. I wonder what’s keeping it from being released on its own?

Track listing
Someone You Use
I’d Rather Be An Old Man’s Sweetheart (Than A Young Man’s Fool)
You Don’t Love Me No More
Evidence
Sweet Feeling
Do Your Duty
That’s How Strong My Love Is
I’m Just A Prisoner (Of Your Good Lovin’)
Another Man’s Woman, Another Woman’s Man
Get It When I Want It

Candi Staton – I’m Just A Prisoner [1969]

(Thanks to Red Kelly’s The B-Side for confirming some details.)

Tags:

Leave a Reply

