On The ‘Lost Horizon’

Originally posted February 2, 2007

Lost Horizon, a 1973 film, was a remake as a musical of an earlier version made in the 1930s, I believe. And from what I understand/remember, the new film tanked, badly. I’ve never seen it, and I wasn’t in the U.S. when it came out, so I’ve never had the chance.

Oh, I suppose it’s out on DVD now and I could get it without too much trouble. But from what I understand, it’s not worth even that much effort.

Portions of the soundtrack, however, may be a different story. I’ve seen raves for the soundtrack on various blogs that consider such matters; I’ve also seem some real savage reviews. In any case, the vocal version of the theme song was performed by Shawn Phillips, owner of one of my favorite voices. The theme – like the entire score – was a Burt Bacharach/Hal David composition, which may or may not be to everyone’s taste.

But with Shawn singing it, it at least sounds good.

Shawn Phillips – “Lost Horizon” [1973]

Tags:

Leave a Reply

