Taking Me Somewhere Else

Originally posted February 3, 2007

It’s a weekend, and it didn’t start all that well. I spent about two hours at the Emergency Room with a loved one this morning, from 2 a.m. to 4. Things are okay, but losing most of a night’s sleep has left us both a little groggy, and with weekend-type chores to do, I don’t have time to rip an entire album right now. But I thought I’d at least show that I was still alive and still blogging by tossing a single out into the ether.

So as I was wandering through my music files, I came upon a single that was – for a few weeks, at least – omnipresent in Denmark during the nine months I spent there many years ago. No matter where my girlfriend of the time and I went that autumn, we heard – sometimes just off in the distance – Lecia & Lucienne singing “Rør Ved Mig” (which translates roughly, I think, into “Stay With Me”).

When I got back to the U.S. in the spring of 1974, I was startled to hear coming from my radio the same tune and nearly the same arrangement, but this time with the words in Spanish. I’ve never been able to determine whether Mocedades’ “Eres Tu,” was the original song and “Rør Ved Mig” was the second-language copycat, or the other way around. And it could be, I suppose, that there are other versions of the song out there in other languages, although in the more-than-thirty-years since I spent my time in Denmark, I’ve heard none.

A couple years after I came back to the U.S., my Danish brother visited, and during his visit, I mentioned “Rør Ved Mig” to him. After he got home, he mailed me a copy of the single. I don’t suppose I’ve played it often, but I did every once in a while. And then I got online about seven years ago and found an MP3 copy out there on the web. It pops up on the RealPlayer now and then.

And whenever I hear “Rør Ved Mig,” it has the same effect: For just a few moments, it is the fall of 1973, and I am walking somewhere inside the old portion of the city of Fredericia, maybe heading to have a beer with a buddy, maybe walking with that long-ago girlfriend, or maybe just walking. It’s a golden day in October, and somewhere, not too far away, Lecia & Lucienne are singing “Rør ved mig. Så jeg føler at jeg lever . . .”

“Rør Ved Mig” by Lecia & Lucienne  [Metromedia B1788, 1973]

Tags:

3 Responses to “Taking Me Somewhere Else”

  1. About Five Years Ago . . . « Echoes In The Wind Says:

    […] was fine but she’d had a difficult night. Exhausted but not wanting to leave the blog blank, I cobbled together a mention of the night before and then wrote a brief memoir about a single that takes me – every […]

  2. From Dishwashing To Danish « Echoes In The Wind Says:

    […] should note that “Rør Ved Mig” was the topic of a brief post early in this blog’s timeline and is a favorite of mine, as it’s one of the most potent records […]

  3. Saturday Single No. 377 « Echoes In The Wind Says:

    […] and then, on the first Saturday of February 2007, I wrote a bit about what the Danish single “Rør Ved Mig” by Lecia & Lucienne meant to […]

Leave a Reply

